A Teacher is Who I Am

In case you missed the Awards Ceremony, this is a poem that I’ve written that I always share on the last day of school. I am truly going to miss these kiddos!!

A TEACHER IS WHO I AM

by Mrs. Passmore

Ever since I was a little girl, it was my TEACHERS that I looked up to

being just like them is something I knew I would always STRIVE to do

After completing my student-teaching, I knew I was on the right path

I entered the EDUCATION profession to teach reading, writing, and math

Not only will I teach the subjects, but I will also teach right from wrong

I will INSPIRE hope and CHALLENGE minds

Working in schools is where I belong

It’s my calling, it’s my PASSION, it’s my world, it’s my jam

I’m doing what I LOVE and loving what I do; I’m a teacher, it’s just who I am

I teach to see the SMILING faces of my students each and every day

I teach to make a DIFFERENCE and not lead my students astray

I teach for the “ah ha” moments that lead to such a FULFILLING outcome

I teach to help my students learn; I’m not in it for the income

My goal is to make the poor student good and the good student superior

There is always room for IMPROVEMENT; No one should ever feel inferior

Every student deserves someone who will NEVER give up on them

insists they become the best they possibly can, and treats each child like a gem

Even on the roughest of days, I know I can count on my fellow employees

They are always UPLIFTING, have an INSPIRING presence,

and a DEDICATION that drives me

A teacher instills a love of LEARNING,

manifests CREATIVITY, and ignites the IMAGINATION

A teacher empathizes with kids, respects them,

and believes each one has something SPECIAL that can be built upon

A teacher helps kids OVERCOME problems and inspires them to follow their DREAM

A teacher uses new strategies to motivate students

and often boosts each child’s self-esteem

A teacher allows students to DISCOVER their interests, talents, and creativity

A teacher makes school more fun by using new learning technology

T is for TERRIFIC

no one can deny

E is for ENERGETIC

we just want each kid to try

A is for ABLE

we will always find a way

C is for CHEERFUL

we are here to brighten your day

H is for HARD WORKING

It’s not just an eight to five

E is for ENTHUSIASTIC

we help each student thrive

R is for REMARKABLE

wouldn’t you say this is true?

A teacher is who we are

It’s just what we were meant to do

A hundred years from now it won’t matter

what house I lived in, what car I drove, or how much money I made

but the world may be a better place

because of the IMPACT I had on someone in fourth grade

2 thoughts on “A Teacher is Who I Am

  1. Sunnie Barker says:

    Such a great poem. You made me tear up. Thank you for all you have done this year for Abram. I know that you had lots of challenges but you made it as normal as possible. We will miss you but are excited for your new adventures in Korea. I will most definitely be looking out for new post on your blog. They have been so helpful for our travels here in England.

    Blessing,

    Sunnie Barker

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    • Mandy Passmore says:

      Thank you! I’ll miss Abram, too! I’ll be catching up on my travel blog this summer now that I have a little more time 🙂 Thanks for a great year.
      All the best to you and your family,
      Mandy

      Like

Leave a comment